Dean Message:

The Institute of Earth and Environmental Sciences (IEES) has been established in 2001. Its establishment has come to achieve the university objectives and from " the crucial needs for a new distinguished type of universities that combine between the sciences and its methodologies in research and teaching from one side and requisites the faith, beliefs and vision transparency from other side, and establishes a state of compatibility and harmony between these facts together to form eventually the personality integral Muslim human in harmony with its environment and culture (Royal will for Al al-Bayt University, 1992)".

In 1995, due to the location of the AABU in desert area that has numerous natural resources such as groundwater, the university has established the Strategic Researches Unit for Water and Environment (SRUWER) to implement scientific studies and researches relevant to groundwater exploration, water harvesting, dam studies, groundwater monitoring, EIA, vegetation and groundwater contamination. The Unit was supplied by advanced laboratories and equipments.  And has gained a good reputation at local and regional scale.

The achievements of the SRUWER was led in 2001 to establish the Institute of Earth and Environmental sciences (IEES). The IEES started by a Master (MSc) Program in water and environmental resources. Two years later and in 2003 a bachelor (BSc) program in Applied earth and environmental sciences has been commenced. The main objective is to prepare specialists in geology, water resources and environment, and implementing the studies relating water and different geological fields such as industrial mineral and rocks, geophysics, dams, paleontology, geo-statistics, geothermal,  structural geology, hydrochemistry and sedimentary rocks. The institute was provided by a high-quality staff members in different fields of geology and environment, their researches were oriented towards water, environment and geological issues in the desert area and Jordanian badia.

In 2014, a BSc program in Geographic Information System and Remote Sensing has been launched as a pioneer and unique program in the region. It provides the local market by a qualified specialists in GIS and RS.

IEES have also a MSc program in applied geology and aiming to have a new academic program in near future, such as GIS and remote sensing. This is to go together with the economical development for the local and regional market needs, since, Mafraq is witnessing a qualitative economical development after the royal decree that declared Mafraq as a special economical zone which is expected to have several industries that eventually need qualified personnel in all fields.

Several Master thesis in the field of paleo- environment and paleo-climate studies have been conducted and funded by European agencies. IEES participates in different local and international conferences, workshops and seminars. IEES participated in several research projects funded by UNESCO, European agencies and International Bank relevant to waste water treatment, re-use and using Information Technology for preparing specialists in water sector.

IEES provides the local community, local and national institutions by different services such as training courses in GIS and RS, awareness environmental lectures, geophysical consultations and many others. IEES is looking to have new academic programs and working on the development of undergraduate study plans to achieve the international quality assurance and  international accreditation requirements (e.g ABET).

   

Prof. Dr. Hani Al Amoush

Dean, of Institute of Earth and Environmental Sciences

E-Mail: hanialamoush@aabu.edu.jo; hani.alamoush1@gmail.com

Phone: + 962-2-6297000 Extant:3130
Cell phone: + 962 777784339

كلمة العميد

تأسس معهد علوم الأرض والبيئة في عام 2001، لتحقيق اهداف الجامعة ومع ماجاء في مضمون الارادة الملكية السامية لتأسيس جامعة آل البيت "الحاجة الملحة لوجود نوع جديد متميز من الجامعات يجمع بين معطيات العلم وأساليبه في البحث والتدريس من جهة، ومقتضيات الإيمان والاعتقاد وشفافية الرؤية من جهة أخرى، ويقيم حالة من التوافق والانسجام بين هذه المعطيات مجتمعة، حتى تشكل في النهاية شخصية الإنسان المسلم المتكامل، المنسجم مع بيئته وحضارة عصره (مقتبس من الارادة الملكية السامية،1992)".

في عام 1995، ولوجود جامعة ال البيت في منطقة صحراوية تحوي العديد من المصادر الطبيعية مثل المياه الجوفية والصخور والخامات المعدنية، تم تأسيس وحدة البحوث الاستراتيجية للمياه والبيئة لتنفيذ الدراسات العلمية المتعلقة باستكشاف المياه الجوفية، الحصاد المائي، دراسات السدود، مراقبة المياه الجوفية، دراسات تقييم الاثر البيئي، الزراعة وتلوث المياه الجوفية. زودت الوحدة باجهزة ومختبرات متقدمة، وقد حققت وحدة البحوث سمعة جيدة على المستوى المحلي والإقليمي.

ان انجازات وحدة البحوث الإستراتيجية للمياه والبيئة كانت مشجعة في عام  2001 إلى  تأسيس معهد علوم الأرض والبيئة. وبدأ المعهد بفتح برنامج ماجستير في تخصص موارد المياه والبيئة، وفي عام 2003 تم فتح برنامج يمنح درجة البكالوريوس في علوم الأرض والبيئة التطبيقية، يهدف إلى إعداد طلبة متخصصين في الجيولوجيا وموارد المياه والبيئة، وتنفيذ دراسات ذات علاقة بالمياه ومختلف مجالات علوم الارض والبيئة مثل المعادن والصخور الصناعية، الجيوفيزياء، السدود، المتحجرات، الجيولوجيا الاحصائية، الطاقة الجوفية،  الجيولوجيا التركيبية، كيمياء المياه والصخور الرسوبية. وتم رفد المعهد باعضاء هيئة تدريسية كفؤة في مختلف حقول الجيولوجيا والبيئة. وقد تركزت أبحاثهم بمواضيع المياه والبيئة في المناطق الصحراوية والبادية الاردنية.

في عام 2014 تم فتح برنامج يمنح درجة البكالوريوس في نظم المعلومات الجغرافية والاستشعار عن بعد (GIS & RS وهو برنامج متميز على المستوى المحلي والمنطقة. يهدف هذا البرنامج إلى رفد السوق المحلي بالكوادر المؤهلة والمدربة في مجال نظم المعلومات الجغرافية والاستشعار عن بعد.

يضم المعهد أيضا برنامج ماجستير في الجيولوجيا التطبيقية، ونتطلع مستقبلا الى التوسع في برامج الدراسات العليا في  مجال نظم المعلومات الجغرافية والاستشعار عن بعد لمواكبة التنمية الاقتصادية واحتياجات الاسواق المحلية والاقليمية. حيث تشهد مدينة المفرق تطور اقتصادي بعدما تم اعلانها كمنطقة اقتصادية خاصة والتي بنهاية الامر تحتاج الى كوادر مؤهلة في جميع الحقول.

نفذت في معهد علوم الارض والبيئة عدة بحوث ودراسات في مجال البيئات القديمة والمناخ القديم وبتمويل من وكالات اوروبية داعمة. وقد شارك المعهد بالعديد من المؤتمرات الدولية والمحلية وورش العمل والندوات. وشارك في مشاريع بحثية ممولة من اليونسكو والاتحاد الاوروبي والبنك الدولي تتعلق في معالجة المياه العادمة واعادة استخدامها، واستخدام تكنولوجيا المعلومات لاعداد الكوادر المتخصصة في قطاع المياه.

يساهم معهد علوم الأرض والبيئة في خدمة المجتمع المحلي، والمؤسسات المحلية والوطنية وذلك بتقديم  خدمات متعددة ومختلفة في مجال دورات نظم المعلومات الجغرافية والاستشعار عن بعد، المحاضرات البيئية التوعوية، الاستشارات الجيوفيزيائية وغيرها. يتطلع المعهد الى التوسع في البرامج الاكاديمية وتطوير الخطط الدراسية وضمان جودتها لتحقيق الاعتمادات المحلية والدولية مثل (ABET).

الأستاذ الدكتور هاني العموش

عميد معهد علوم الأرض والبيئة

هاتف:  + 962-2-6297000 فرعي  3130

هاتف خلوي:  0777784339

 

البريد الالكتروني: hanialamoush@aabu.edu.jo ; hani.alamoush1@gmail.com

 

 

 

 

​