​The AABU Physics Department is one of your good choices for education and research in physics.  It has been established by the beginning of the academic year 1994-1995 in parallel with the university establishment.  The AABU Physics Department is committed to increasing the diversity of its faculty and student populations to improve our excellence and to better serve the society that supports our work. In recent years we have produced many undergraduate and master degrees in physics. Our program is admired by the Accreditation Commission of Jordan since it satisfies its standardization requirements, and thus it is on its way toward goodness.​

The Department has 10 faculty members, 5 lab instructors and a technician. The current number of students is about 300 undergraduate students, and 12 graduate students.  Our research is organized into four primary research areas, experimental and theoretical, ranging from the subatomic to the cosmological: Elementary Particles, Nuclear Physics, Astrophysics, Mathematical Physics, Condensed Matter Physics, Materials Science (Magnetism and Optics) and Medical physics. The department is equipped with some research laboratories: The Vibrating Sample Magnetometer (VSM), Ellipsometry and Thin-Films, X-ray diffraction and Electron Microscope. The Department is also equipped with modern teaching laboratories to demonstrate the fundamental physics in parallel with the physics classes: Mechanics, Electricity and Magnetism, Optics, Electronics and Modern Physics.

The department seeks to motivate the involvement in local society issues, particularly with the minister of education. This involves giving some lectures in the field of physics at schools and demonstrate the major experiments for the students that are not available at their schools.

Should you have any question, please do not hesitate to contact me at the address below. Welcome to AABU physics department.

Dr. Hatem Widyan​

Last Modified 10/5/2021 2:08:04 PM